It’s New Year’s Eve – Do You Know Where Your Party Is?

I hate New Year’s Eve.  Not the concept, but the event.  It’s one of those high-expectation holidays that rarely lives up to the hype.   You know, like almost every holiday that society tells us should be amazing every time (just wait ’til you hear me on Valentine’s Day…).  Add to that being single in Manhattan, and this is a night that takes proper planning.

So I stay in.  Every year.  I’ve developed a great routine, and as much as I love my friends, I consistently turn down invitations to spend New Year’s Eve on my couch, with my cats.

Where the cats spend New Year's Eve...

After at least one Bikram class, I head home to cook a great meal, open a bottle of wine (or pour something stronger), watch a movie… you get the picture.  And then, at midnight, I take little slips of paper and write on each one something to let go of in the New Year…these papers will either be sent flying into the wind from the roof, or, if I’m feeling lazy, burned.  I shared this with a group of friends one New Year’s and the results were…well, suffice it to say, I never brought it up again.

My dear friend suggested a change in the ritual for this year, and I think I’m going to try it.  Rather than write what I don’t want…I’m going to write (and burn) what I do want.  There are names for this ritual, and she did tell me, but I admit, I’ve already forgotten.  (A., feel free to remind me!)  I don’t do resolutions, but this sounds like a great idea to me.

What are you planning for NYE?  What are your rituals?  Whatever you may do, enjoy, be safe, and see you in 2012!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paula Braun
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 09:50:56

    Love the ritual. This year, why not do both? Give up something and commit to something new for your life. Sounds like a great way to bid adieu to 2011 and ring in 2012.

    Reply

  2. bonniefranz
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 10:24:48

    I used to feel somehow guilty about being a single woman in NYC and not doing something exciting on New Year’s. Then one year the coolest single guy I know in London told me he actually sleeps through New Year’s Eve and somehow that made me feel less lame for just lounging around. Maybe the big New Year’s Eves are an urban legend, lol.

    Reply

  3. travelswithslippers
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 14:58:44

    Great idea, Paula! And Bonnie, that’s what I think!

    Reply

  4. Alison
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 11:06:07

    GIVE ME THOSE CATS, NOW!!!

    Reply

  5. Katie Mamakos
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 12:01:59

    I like your style of writing, Flora. On New Years it was always a given that Charlie and I do it up big with either a party somewhere or, the safer easier alternative, a party thrown by us. This year was different. I was in bed by 11 mainly because I was sick, but also because I chose to be. I didn’t care much to stay up just to say Happy New Year. New Year’s Eve is rather depressing in my opinion, unless you’ve got a group of loud people around to distract you.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Are You Ready To Fail? « Travels With Slippers, or The Life of A Single Woman Who Prefers It That Way
  7. Trackback: The Hallmark Effect | Travels With Slippers, or The Life of A Single Woman Who Prefers It That Way

Leave a Reply

