Shiny Happy People

I got the REM retrospective CD for Christmas (yes, I still own CDs), and even they make fun of this song a little bit.  But as someone who’s not usually a shiny happy person, I wanted to kick off the New Year thinking positively.

Do you make New Year’s resolutions?  I don’t, really – it ties into my rejection of the high-expectation holidays.  But tomorrow, January 2, I will be starting a 30-day yoga challenge.  I’ve done this before, all in the studio (30 Bikram classes in 30 days), but this time, due to my travel and work schedule, some days may be a home practice.  That’s entirely new for me – I’ve never had much of a home practice, and have had trouble in the past getting motivated without the action of going to the studio.  You can read all about our challenge (and sign up, too!) on the terrific blog It’s A Party, Not A Picnic.

The difference between a challenge and a resolution?  I’m not sure, except that the idea of a New Year’s resolution seems to be vowing to do something unrealistic and not sustainable (“I will lose 50 pounds by spring!”; “I will never be mean or grumpy again!”), and a challenge is a fixed task, with a time frame and a goal in reach.

So, Happy New Year to you… and remember what Mark Twain said:  “New Year’s Day: Now is the accepted time to make your regular annual good resolutions. Next week you can begin paving hell with them as usual.”

**Oh, and I heard from my friend…it’s called a “puja fire”, and here’s a photo:

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Thomas (@thoscarpenter)
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 13:16:41

    I think it’s funny when stupid people refer to them as New Year’s Revolutions. They might not know the difference between a resolution and a revolution, but in a way, it’s okay, because most people are revolting, anyway.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

