What If I Want My Feet Together Meanly, Or Lies Teachers Tell

In every Bikram class, you will hear “feet together nicely – toes and heels together” many, many times (though not as many as “lock the knee!”).  Now, to follow me here, you have to understand that my sisters and I have one of those long-standing family jokes, only funny to us, about “nice” vs. “mean”.  If we’re shopping, for example, one of us might say “oh, that’s a nice blouse”, which will immediately be answered with “but I want a mean blouse!” and so on.  You get the picture.  (We also do things “on porpoise” and always, always “panic first, look later”, but those are stories for another day.)

Mean feet

So, on days when I am feeling contrary, which would be, oh, almost every day, what I hear myself saying to the teacher is “no, I want my feet together meanly!”  I never would, but I so want to… And it’s not the only snark I’d like to give back during class.

Don’t get me wrong, I love, love, love my teachers – all of them (though yes, I have favorites) – and I couldn’t be happier than when I’m in the hot room getting lots of corrections and even the occasional compliment – but there are some things they all say, I’m assuming because they’re in the dialogue, that just make me want to scream!

The one that gets to me the most is the statement that the more I sit down, the easier it will be to wrap my leg.  Liars!  The few times I came even close to wrapping my leg, my standing leg was almost straight.  The more I sit down, the further away from wrapping I get – I know this.  I can see it in the mirror.  I sit down, my foot moves away from my calf.  So, teachers, what’s with this comment?  I know that the posture is possible – pretty much everyone else in class seems to wrap their legs just fine.  So maybe, just maybe, sitting down further is not the only answer?  I would like to wrap my leg just once before I die.

Another one that gets to me is “if you’re going to fall, fall forward”.  Well, maybe I don’t want to fall for once.  Maybe I want some hints on how to improve my balance.  Maybe I want to fall sideways.  Maybe…oh, forget it.

Finally (today at least), there’s an omission.  I miss being reminded that I should be in class with a “happy smiling face”.  All my teachers used to say it, but I don’t hear it much anymore.  For me, being told to smile really helps.  The “ask” itself makes me smile, and the smile makes me happy(-er).

And now, I have to go have a mean dinner and a truly unkind glass of wine.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gablesgirl
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 19:19:50

    What motivates you to get up when it is cold and go to class? I skipped spinning today because it was too cold (read: Miami cold).

    Reply

    • travelswithslippers
      Jan 04, 2012 @ 19:32:49

      That was really hard for me the first winter after I started my practice. Eventually, I was able to recall the sense memory of how good I felt after class, especially knowing I had braved the cold to get there, and use that as motivation. Hope that’s helpful!

      Reply

  2. Anne Gaioni
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 10:12:40

    do you ever practice Eagle legs when you are lying down? I can get a great stretch without torquing my knees…my (possibly faulty) theory is that it will help my standing posture. How is your challenge going? I will be interested to hear about doing a practice on your own. I am wondering if you are going to write about our age, and how it relates (perhaps) to being more fully who you were meant to be etc. Have a great day.

    Reply

    • travelswithslippers
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 10:41:19

      I practice Eagle legs in my office chair, on a teacher’s recommendation. It’s really an issue with tight, arthritic hips. Challenge is going well – first home practice hasn’t happened yet, but I’m sure I will report on it.

      Any and all topic suggestions welcome!

      Have a wonderful day!

      Reply

  3. seo
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 18:51:12

    We absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content in your case? I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome web log!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

