On Superstition

Hmmm....

Ir’s Friday the 13th, and I am flying today.  This is not the first time this has happened, but I always get an extra twinge of anxiety when I travel on this day.

I pick up pennies for luck, by the way, but only if they’re heads up.  I throw spilled salt over my shoulder (right hand, left shoulder), and even when I owned a black cat, I worried if he crossed my path.

I will note that the day after I pick up those pennies, I drop them, heads up, to share the luck.  That I don’t really think that spilled salt is bad luck, but the action of reacting to it amuses me.  That even if Edgar (the aforementioned black cat and the best cat ever) crossed my path, I went about my business.

So I don’t suffer from friggatriskaidekaphobia or paraskevidekatriaphobia, but I can’t help being apprehensive about being on a plane, which scares me in any case, on Friday the 13th.

But hey, we’re heading into a three-day weekend that I want to spend home in Upstate Manhattan.   I miss my cats and my yoga studio; I need to hit a Weight Watchers meeting; and I have two parties to go to.

So, Friday the 13th – you can suck it.  I’m flyin’!

Image

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nate's Mom @ Nate is Great
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 18:18:55

    My Dad (age 90) says that that Friday the 13th has the most luck in it because no one uses it up. I think we should play the lottery!

    Reply

  2. sweetopiagirl
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 22:24:01

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

    Reply

  3. Jensen
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 09:26:00

    Edgar was indeed the best. He even rated on the answering machine!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

