Packing

Yes, I’m packing again.  I’m off to LA for a grand total of three days, including travel time.   It’s actually harder to pack for a short trip than a long one, since you don’t want to weigh yourself down with luggage, so outfit options tend to be reduced.  So far, I’ve got slippers, yoga clothes, my travel yoga mat, PJs, my mini MagLite (which I travel with since being stuck in Canada’s Hotel Hell during the big blackout) and that’s really about it.   Sigh…

I do love my hotel, though – the Renaissance Hollywood.  It’s right around the corner from our office, and connected to the Hollywood and Highland Complex, which has some great restaurants – and shopping!  Plus, it’s a Marriot, and I have “status” there, so before each arrival, I get an email:

Your stay at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel & Spa begins in just a few days and we are preparing to give you the red carpet treatment!

I appreciate your loyalty as a Silver Elite Marriott Rewards Member!…In anticipation of your arrival, I am thrilled to offer a specialized registration process designed just for you.

Between 3pm and 7pm, your Elite Loyalty Ambassador will be in lobby to assist you. We will have your guest room keys prepared for you according to your preferences. Your Ambassador will be available for any additional needs or requests you may have upon arrival and throughout your stay.

Please feel free to email me any special needs or requests and your anticipated arrival time.

…I appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and look forward to your arrival!

I’m a sucker for stuff like that.  I always write back, and make my usual requests for a fridge and lots of extra towels (which I take to yoga rather than renting theirs).   They always come through.  And even though I know it’s illogical, they always seem to recognize me the minute I walk in.  I’m not surprised I recognize some of them, but really?  The idea that they would remember me is crazy…but I still let myself think it.  I’m the walking poster child for good customer service and loyalty programs.  They could hire me to tell all my friends about how much I really like their hotel (even though I do that for free).

So, after the drama of packing and the hell that is air travel, I will arrive at the Renaissance and be greeted by my “Elite Loyalty Ambassador”, and I’ll feel right at home.

Except, of course, I’m not taking the cats.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nateisgreat
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 18:54:22

    Can you ask them for cats? Or at least a fish? When I stayed at some swanky hotel in Washington, D.C., I was given a goldfish named Bronax to be my companion. They cleaned his bowl (actually I think they just swapped him out) and fed him each day. That was awesome!

    Reply

  2. Bonnie
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 21:07:08

    What is it you do for a living? I’ve been wondering… your fellow 30-day challenger, Bonnie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

