Look, That’s Shiny!

I’ve been feeling, to use a friend’s word, a little “grumblepuppies” lately.  Mainly about assumptions.  We all know the old saw about “assume”, right? 

Some of these assumptions are my own, but more often, they’re other people’s.

So, please, never, never, never tell me that we do it that way “because we always have”.  Or that “it’s easier just to let it alone”.

But also, for God’s sake, don’t tell me to “think outside of the box”.  Yes, I admit I’ve used that phrase myself, mainly because it seems many people have no other terminology for the simple act of thinking creatively.   As my mini-rebellion, I’ve started calling my creative thinking “tesseracts”.   (Sidenote:  A Wrinkle in Time  is actually my favorite book.  If you haven’t read it, you need to.  Now.  I’ll wait.)

I’m not going to try to define a tesseract here, so read A Wrinkle in Time.  I’m still prepared to wait for you.  But I did find a bunch of graphics of tesseracts, and given that I am using “tesseract” to replace the shopworn “out of the box”, I liked this one.  As someone who doesn’t think linearly – when most people are working from A to Z, I’m working from A to circle to 4 to purple to “ooh, look, that’s shiny” to Z – this makes a lot of sense. 

I’ll just leave it at that.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne Demcisak
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 21:38:38

    Very cool graphics, and I just recently reread “A Wrinkle In Time.” It’s still excellent.

    Reply

  2. Mary K. Botosan
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 12:05:43

    One of my favorite books too. There’s a graphic of the explanation of a tesseract in my version.. with an ant crossing a string held by two hands. Bring the hands together and the ant is ‘there’; the looped string IS the wrinkle in time. I love it. Making the wrinkle is the way the characters tesser.. they become ‘there’. Love, love, love. And love your blog. Love.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Pick A Choice « Travels With Slippers, or The Life of A Single Woman Who Prefers It That Way
  4. Trackback: One Step Forward, Two Steps Back « Travels With Slippers, or The Life of A Single Woman Who Prefers It That Way
  5. Trackback: Yes. My Answer Is Yes. | Travels With Slippers, or The Life of A Single Woman Who Prefers It That Way

Leave a Reply

