Seriously? Seriously.

I have a confession to make.  I still watch Grey’s Anatomy.  Despite all the shark-jumping they’ve done since day one, despite my continuing animosity toward the character of Meredith Grey, despite the ludicrous exaggeration of life/work around a major hospital… I’m hooked.  But there is one thing that Meredith does that particularly sticks in my craw – when she talks about Cristina being her “person”.  “You’re my person.”  It’s the Grey’s Anatomy version of BFF.

Cristina and Meredith, for those who don't watch

And why does this bother me?  Well, it’s a (in my mind) crazy expectation, that in friends, in lovers, in all categories, really, there will be just one.  One perfect best friend.  One perfect significant other.  One perfect person in whom all your hopes, dreams, and expectations reside.

Oh, please.  Now, if you have that, and you’re happy, yay for you.  But I believe the majority of us have many “persons”, and that they are all the perfect person for some things.  Yes, I admit, there are one or two of my “persons” that I will call on for anything, but mostly, I don’t turn to any one person for everything.  And even many of my friends who claim have that one person have moments where they have said “You know, maybe I should really talk to [insert perfect person’s name here] about this, but I kind of want to talk to you or [insert another person’s name here] instead.”  So, what’s wrong with that?  Nothing, except that society continues to insist that we make choices.  Choices that require we limit ourselves to just one.  Because, society says, there is only one, and if you don’t find him/her, there’s something wrong with you.

Well, screw that.  Share the wealth — I dare you!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. monicaserra
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 15:39:05

    I think it was Aristophanes who said there is a soul mate. I think our society is fine with the whole thing being over and having had a good run if a couple makes it to 10 years. I wrote about the whole issue , too…in my blog. Ha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

