Not So Lonely Anymore

I love watching people on the subway. I mean, who doesn’t?  Last night, I was all dressed up with a place to go, and was riding the train when I usually don’t.  The night before a holiday, the train was pretty busy for an off time on a Sunday, so there were some interesting people to watch.  However, what really caught my eye was a group of five kids who got on a few stops after me.  Three girls, two boys, and clearly none of them were couples.

Of course, the train wasn't empty...

When they got on the train, they sat in what I call the “three-two” – three seats facing the center of the car, two facing an end of the car.   This left one of the girls sitting in the three-seater with the two boys.  Almost immediately, she got up and moved to the two-seater across the car.  At first, I thought this was just a pre-teen thing…but then I got caught up in watching the interaction.  The two girls were talking, laughing, looking around – the two guys were the same, with an occasional nod toward something the girls said.  And the lone girl by me?  She kept trying – she would listen, comment, laugh at the appropriate times – and they barely noticed her.  I wanted to cry.

Yes, a gross overreaction, I’m sure.  But all of a sudden, I felt like I was watching myself as a pre-teen, a teenager, a young woman…even now.

Who hasn’t felt like the outsider in a group of friends?  If you say “me, me!”, I’ll call you a liar.  I truly believe everyone has had this experience.  And for me, at least, it’s not something that never happens anymore.  What has changed is how it makes me feel.  I am finally happy in my own company, a goal that I worked hard to reach.  And if I’m part of a group and I’m having an “outsider” moment…so what?

It’s like the weather in Florida, where I grew up – if you don’t like it, wait twenty minutes.  It will change.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rose W.
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 18:21:41

    yes! whenever i feel lonely, i stop to remember that there are a lot of other lonelies other there, and so i am not alone in my loneliness 🙂

    Reply

  2. Anne Gaioni
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 03:44:32

    thanks…again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

