What WAS I Thinking?

So, People Magazine is running a contest to go with their “Most Beautiful” special issue.  It’s called “Real Beauty At Every Age”, and because I am basically insane, I entered it.  You can see my entry and “fave” me here (search for “Flora S).  Given how I feel about my looks, I’m not sure why I did this, but then I thought “why not?”

It’s like when I was at my goal weight with Weight Watchers (a place I will be at again).  Someone showed up at my meeting one day and was taking photos of various members.  I was one of them, and for months, I would hear from Weight Watchers periodically asking for yet another photo, or asking more questions.  Nothing ever came of it, but it was kind of fun.  Weird, but fun.

See, I do actually know why I entered.  Despite everything, I have moments when I feel beautiful, and this photo to the right was one of them.  It was taken at a friend’s wedding, and I was thrilled to be sharing this day with them.  I think it shows.

But then, I also feel beautiful in this photo, taken in the studio lobby right after a Bikram class.  Not quite the same thing, but the same joy.

And sometimes, that’s enough.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy McGean
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 23:01:26

    Go, Flora!!!!!! I love how open you are about your relationship with your appearance. You defy labels and stereotypes at every turn.

    Reply

  2. Jodi Ambrose
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 00:00:30

    Hi Flora! You are beautiful! I’m so glad you entered. You look just wonderful. I just entered myself last night. Figured, hey, why not? Right?
    PS: I like the post-yoga picture. You look natural and gorgeous. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Trackback: What WAS I Thinking? Part Two « Travels With Slippers, or The Life of A Single Woman Who Prefers It That Way

Leave a Reply

