Did You Mean Me? Really?

This is going to sound sad and probably weird, but I am still surprised that anyone wants to socialize with me. I often feel like my friends are (consciously or unconsciously) doing me a favor by spending time with me. Intellectually, I know – well, I tell myself – that this isn’t true, but the outsider years have never really let me go.

This is why I almost never turn down an invitation, resulting in overscheduling, exhaustion, and not one iota less of the underlying insecurity that made me accept in the first place. As much as I enjoy my time with me, and as I’ve said before, how much I prefer to be single, there’s a societal stigma to being home alone on Saturday night. Or any night.

20120320-171756.jpg

So I say yes – more than I should – simply because I am asked. And in fact, if I’m not asked, I’ll ask. And be surprised, grateful, and a little suspicious if you say yes.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary K Klinger
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 02:56:45

    You are in fact one of the most wonderful person I’ve met in a really long time. We live on two different coasts and never see each other, yet, I find I want to talk to you and tell you things. We just don’t get the chance very often. I miss you! We’ve known each other in person for like a month… The rest has been good thoughts over Facebook. I choose you as my friend. I want to hang with you dear!
    xoxo
    m.

    Reply

  2. Kim Sherman
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 07:35:22

    Definitely brunch in April!!!

    Reply

  3. Haelox (@haelox)
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 08:38:06

    Well, I for one am always glad when you reach out to extend an invite to socialize. I don’t have the best track record in doing so proactively, and truth be told, for similar reasons to what you articulate here.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Versatile + Blogger = Award for Final Nominations « AirportsMadeSimple.com
  5. Trackback: September 11, 2001 | Travels With Slippers, or The Life of A Single Woman Who Prefers It That Way

Leave a Reply

