Facebreak

I’m at the beginning of the second week of my Facebreak, one of the many decisions I’ve been making lately.  And it’s been…interesting.   I must admit, I did finally sign up for Twitter, but that’s mainly for this blog.  What I noticed at first is that I felt totally disconnected from my friends, as so many of them almost exclusively communicate through Facebook.  I also noticed that I missed that forum – I would have a funny thought, or see an amusing photo, and want to share it.  But I got over that part pretty quickly.

What I haven’t yet gotten over is how little I am hearing from friends from whom I heard regularly on Facebook.  This is not meant to be a negative comment on them, but just another indicator of how involved in that particular social medium we have all become.  But I am fighting a feeling of rejection – as though this ‘radio silence’ is saying something negative about how my friends feel about me.  I could email people, of course,  or even call, and they could do the same.  But there’s something so much more “serious” about sending an email/picking up the phone than sending a Facebook message, and certainly more so than writing on someone’s wall.

(By the way, remember when people started to email rather than call?  and now, when they text rather than either?  It’s all good – change is inevitable – and at least we also have Facebook!)

Yes, I’ll be back on Facebook…probably sooner rather than later.  But this break has been one of my better decisions lately, even if it does have me struggling with some of my personal demons.

However, National Unplug Day?  Not a freaking chance.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fernando Siman
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 17:35:54

    I think your take on this is wrong… it is simply easier and, yes, less serious, to have communication on facebook.But it is a different type of contact (not everyone considers it socialization, LOL). It happens in a medium that allows you to be connected on your time and terms. That silly picture you share on FB, if you instead called your fiends about it you might get them a a bad time. And if they answered, wouldn’t it be a silly, weird call as you try to describe it? You have thousands of friends on FB if I recall, and at most a dozen or so interact with you on a post, and it happens spread over hours in a day as each gets a chance to read & type. And pick the posts they want to comment on too. No need to take it personally… your friends will want to hear from you in other ways, it’s just impossible to do that everyday. Many people do not have time to socialize everyday. Well, they didn’t before FB. You gotta give that Zuckerberg guy credit…

    Reply

  2. ABelle
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 19:38:59

    Hey there – Funny you should post this today as I was thinking of dashing you a note. Feeling one-sided reading ur blog and not interacting. Miss that. Also? Greetings from ur home state. I’ve protested for years but today I proclaimed aloud: “I like Florida.”

    Reply

  3. NubianOR
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 23:13:27

    I deleted my FB account a few years ago. Lost contact with a few people and that was okay. I had to make the effort and remind my friends I was no longer on there, after that I reconnected with people through phone calls and email. Facebook was too much like high school and I went to an all girls school so drama was a factor every day.

    Reply

  4. Gablesgirl
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 18:17:36

    Wondering where you went. Now I know. Miss ya on FB

    Reply

  5. Fernando Siman
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 16:46:36

    I just wanted to provide food for thought on why these FB peeps might have disappeared on you for a bit… I am sure you will hear from most of them sooner than later.

    What’s wrong with Florida???

    Reply

  6. sunkanmi oguntimilehin
    May 17, 2012 @ 01:23:05

    Holle…,Today

    Reply

Leave a Reply

