Like A Japanese Ham Sandwich, Or What Was THAT?

Anyone who practices Bikram Yoga knows exactly what I’m talking about… and if you google “Japanese Ham Sandwich”, you’ll get a lot of results – mainly people blogging about their Bikram practices.

But that’s not really my point.  During the last two months, since I came back from my pain-induced break, I have found myself listening to the dialogue with a fresh ear.  And I’ve noticed that some of my favorite phrases seem to have gone missing…like the ubiquitous Japanese ham sandwich.

For instance…

  • I almost never hear a teacher talk about my “happy smiling face” anymore, and frankly, I am less happy and smiling when I’m not being reminded.
  • What happened to the “angry Halloween cat”?  It was such a great visual for a rounded back – I still see my Edgar in my mind’s eye at the point in class when this phrase was once used.
  • Yes, I do want to “open my chest like a flower petal blooming”…so tell me so!

Okay, okay, I had a point, and it was not just to sound like an old Bikram fogy – (“eh, what are those whippersnappers doing?  they’ve changed the dialogue, damn it!”).  When I noticed that I was actually hearing the dialogue again, I started to wonder what else I hadn’t been hearing lately.  

So I started listening.  And suffice it to say that I’ve heard a lot.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kerryalina
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 19:15:52

    Certain phrases seem to go in and out of fashion at my studio too. The official dialogue doesn’t change, but because the teachers all take each other’s classes, one will remember a certain line and suddenly everyone else will remember to use it too! Of course, that means something else drops out of the script 🙂

    I haven’t heard the Halloween cat one before, though – an American-specific phrase, I guess! What pose is it for?

    Reply

    • travelswithslippers
      Apr 05, 2012 @ 05:53:17

      I used to hear it in standing separate leg forehead to knee (“round your back like an angry Halloween cat”). I just heard from a teacher friend that it’s actually not in the “true” dialogue!

      Reply

      • kerryalina
        Apr 05, 2012 @ 09:58:51

        Ahhhh, that makes sense – the dialogue’s designed to be used internationally and a Halloween cat doesn’t prompt much of a visual image outside of America! I’ll have to keep the idea in mind for my next class though 🙂

Leave a Reply

