Bikram And Life Lessons, Or Yes, I AM Stubborn

Until just this week, one of my least favorite lines in the Bikram dialogue was said during Standing Bow:  “The harder you kick, you can balance here forever”.  (And before you say it, maybe that’s not EXACTLY what the dialogue is, but almost all of my teachers say it that way.) 

And my reaction is – well, crap.  If the last almost seven years are any indication, I will never kick hard enough. 

But then, this odd connection happened in my head during a class.  It’s not only about the Standing Bow, it’s my life.  “The harder you kick, you can balance here forever”.  That’s what I do; it’s how I live.  Lock that knee, and kick back, kick harder!

Is anyone getting this but me?  Once that synapse fired, it seemed so obvious.  And now I have it as a new mantra.   Say it with me:

The harder you kick, you can balance here forever.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. NubianOR
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 10:40:02

    I needed to hear that today. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

