One Step Forward, Two Steps Back

Yes, I know, I know, the saying is “two steps forward, one step back”,  but I’m not feeling that lately.  I’m feeling one step forward, two steps back, and so on…and on… and on.  At this rate, I’ll eventually be back in Miami.  (Not that there’s anything wrong with Miami – but not that there’s much right with Miami, at least for me.  A visit, sure.  Move back?  Not a chance.)

See, I don’t really like going backwards.  I’m not even sure hindsight is 20/20.  I think that the decision you make at the time is the best decision you could have made, full stop.  Certainly, if you don’t get the desired results, you can learn something for the next time, but just keep on keeping on.

I freely admit, I only applied to one college, which I chose somewhat whimsically.  The same was true for grad school – both times.  And all three of those decisions were among the best ones I’ve ever made.  Part of this may be that while I probably, at the time, could not analyze my decision-making process, I have since learned I actually do have one.  It’s pretty much the “Look, That’s Shiny” method, and it doesn’t actually improve with post-decision analysis.

I’m not saying I don’t make mistakes, and I’m not counting decisions made under any undue influences.  (Interpret as you will.)  But I do think we spend too much time obsessing over what we could have done then instead of thinking about what we can do now.

So, what’s next?  Whatever it is, I hope it’s new.  I hope it’s different.  And it would be great if it were shiny!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. AirportsMadeSimple
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 08:31:09

    I’m much the same way. Never look back, just honor the memory. I go with my gut.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

