I Have A Confession To Make

And okay, smart-asses, before you say it – yes, just one.  At least for today. 

Sometimes I hate my yoga practice.  Abhor it.  Detest it.  Loathe it.  Wonder why I would ever go back.  And yet I do, four, five, sometimes six times a week.  I drag myself out of my cozy, though sleepless, bed, abandon my adorably needy cats, brave the crazies on the 5:45 am subway, and sweat it out for ninety minutes.    All in the name of stubborn.

It would be just lovely to say I do this for some higher purpose – my health, my sanity, my (ahem) good looks – but that would be a lie.  It truly is all in the name of stubborn.  I decided almost seven years that I love Bikram Yoga, and I’m damn well not going to change my mind now.

Hey, at least if I’m going to be this stubborn, I can legitmately claim there are good things that can come out of this particular blind spot.  And we all know that’s not usually true – usually stubborn takes us down the path of No Progress to the land of Nothing Good.

So, in this one case, I’m going to own my stubborn, and keep dragging my sorry ass to Bikram even when I hate it…right down the path of Slow Progress to the land of Something Good.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kerryalina
    May 07, 2012 @ 20:00:25

    I have a theory that if you quiz every Bikram yogi in the world about why they practice, only about 2% would honestly say it’s because they love it every second of every day. Everyone else would be a mixture of stubbornness and masochism 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: I Have A(nother) Confession To Make « Travels With Slippers, or The Life of A Single Woman Who Prefers It That Way

Leave a Reply

