It’s Harder Than It Looks

I have friends who think savasana is easy.  Maybe it is – probably it should be – but not for me.  I mean, how many of you can relax “3 – 2 – 1”, in proper form, and then “change” and be right back in the class?  Okay, okay, I hear you.  All of you.

But still, think about it.  Savasana, at least in Bikram, has a form.   And it’s not a form that I find very comfortable or relaxing.  First off, lying on my back with my heels together, toes falling open is pretty much one of the most uncomfortable positions for my hip.  Who knows why?  But it just is.  Secondly, for whatever reason, bringing my arms close to my body with my palms up is just hard.  Hard, I tell you!  Oh, and finally, I can’t help thinking about how awkward I look in this position.  Those myths about how a woman’s body looks best when she’s on her back…just myths, really.  It’s just a way for a man (or a woman, if you prefer) to get you on your back.

So, by the time I’ve tried to make this happen, it’s “change” and I’ve missed my chance.  Most of the time in savasana, I feel like I’m playing that old game “Light As A Feather, Stiff As A Board”.   And that makes me want to go look for the Crazy 8 Ball and ask it some questions.   But as you see, it’s currently disinclined to answer.

This little problem with relaxing, letting go, whatever you want to call it, doesn’t, of course, stay in the yoga studio.  It follows me out the door and interferes with my work, my play, my sleep.  And when I try to talk about it, no-one really gets it.  A typical response:  “What do you mean?  Savasana is the BEST!  I love it!  I could fall asleep in there!”

Well, bully for you.  It’s harder than it looks.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne Demcisak
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 17:48:30

    For the few yoga classes I’ve made it to (very few, since it clashes with pretty much everything), I find that posture helpful because I’m usually ready for a break, read here, “Out of shape.” But relaxing in it? I can remember a time when I could lie down and relax sequentially from my toes to the top of my head, but I haven’t been able to do that for years. When I lie down in any position, I feel like a slightly over-filled balloon, sort of gently tense all over. I think the only time I relax physically is when I’m asleep, and given how stiff I sometimes am when I wake up, I may not truly relax even then. I can relax my brain, but my body is not willing to go along with the joke.

    Reply

  2. Liat Miriam Gat
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 04:41:29

    I had a teacher suggest that we roll our shoulder blades under in savasanah. This makes it easier to breathe and also to get your arm in close to your sides. It sort of props your chest open and if you look at a spot on the ceiling roughly above your toes, it helps straighten your neck. It felt wierd for me at first but after a few days I got used to it and now I do it all the time. When I don’t, it feels like my chest is kind of collapsed and I can’t breathe as well. Maybe this will help you, too?

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Seven Things You Might Not Know About Yoga | Travels With Slippers, or The Life of A Single Woman Who Prefers It That Way

Leave a Reply

