I Have A(nother) Confession To Make

And yes, it’s also about my Bikram practice, like my last confession.  But as I thought about it, it’s really about much more – it’s about my work, my friends, my family, even my cats.

The thing is, I was in class the other day, with a teacher I really like, and who I think likes me, and she didn’t say a word to me during the practice.  Not one correction and certainly not one word of praise.  This has happened before, usually with teachers right out of training, who are so focused on the dialogue that they seem afraid to deviate, but it’s more common that if a teacher is giving corrections, pretty much everyone will get at least one.  Even when I was in a huge class with Bikram himself in LA, I got a correction.  Yes, he called me “girl in pink by the door”, but it was a good correction anyway.

So now you know.  I’m needy.  At least in this particular way.  I want to hear (constructive) criticism and yes, I want to hear compliments when I do something well.  Even if doing something well means only that I’ve made a tiny, tiny, tiny improvement.  That sixteenth of an inch means a lot to me, and when it’s noticed, it means even more.

What does this have to do with my cats, you ask?  Well, lots of people think cats are unfriendly, especially compared to the indiscriminate friendliness of dogs.  My cats, however, tend to be overly friendly, so when they aren’t… I feel criticized.  Make sense?  No, of course it doesn’t.  Whatever.

I’m not saying I’m special, except I am special.  Maybe not to the world at large, but when I’m in class, or at work, or with my friends or family, I want to hear from you.  I need to hear from you.  And believe me, you’ll hear from me.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NubianOR
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 10:05:29

    Leaving a comment because I hear you. Have a wonderful Sunday.

    Reply

  2. travelswithslippers
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 10:15:25

    Namaste!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Five Things I Want To Share With My Yoga Teachers | Travels With Slippers, or The Life of A Single Woman Who Prefers It That Way

Leave a Reply

