Same Old, Same Old

I just got back from a vacation in Miami with my sisters. 

The three sisters on vacation

We grew up there, and have family there, and one of my sisters lives there, so except for the “vacation” part, it’s not really a big deal.    Though I am tan.  And rested.  Oh, and I did say tan?

In any case, I am not here to share the details of my vacation – y’all would just get jealous (beach.  stone crabs. beach. stone crabs. beach. stone crabs.).  It’s just that vacations remind me how much I love routine.  And structure.  And how limitations make you creative. 

Okay, okay, I can hear the yawns now.  But when you look at it from my perspective, it’s the only way to stay sane.  From now until at least the end of January, I am traveling somewhere pretty much every week.  And even when I am in the office, those days cannot be counted on to be the same in any way except the start time (mostly).

So, yes, I have some pretty strict routines – daily and weekly –  and I find it freeing, actually.   And if you let yourself admit it, you would probably find that you have routines too – it’s just that you don’t call them that.

Am I bored?  No.  Do I get my shit done? Yes.  Do I love it?  Yes.   And as long as all that is true, I’ll stick to my schedule…on weekdays, it’s up at 4/4:30 am, chores (work and personal), Bikram, office, free time.  Until the next day, when I’ll do it all over again.   And if you’re wondering, on weekends, it’s up at 5/5:30 am, followed by Bikram, chores, free time – in any order.

I thought I had a point here, but it seems I don’t.  However, I wouldn’t mind hearing some feedback.  Do y’all have routines?  Do you like them/hate them/find them confining/find them liberating?  Let’s chat!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne Demcisak
    Nov 17, 2012 @ 19:48:36

    I wish I was able to stick to a more routine life. I have a feeling that if I could get up consistently and exercise, or at least stretch, first thing, I’d wake up faster and more thoroughly, and then sleep better at night. I do have one unvarying routine, though — up in the morning, glasses on, meds in mouth. In the evening, meds in mouth, glasses off, bed. And I always regret it when I have an absent-minded moment and skip.

    Reply

  2. Cynthia McGean
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 17:41:36

    As a teacher at a Title I school, I can absolutely swear by what you’re saying. So many of my students lead chaotic lives outside of school. Structures and routines in class reduce their anxiety, which frees their brains to learn. For kids with learning disabilities, routines allow them to devote their cognitive processing energy to the most important information, the new skills or concepts being taught, rather than trying to understand and make sense of the process through which the teaching is happening. As for fostering creativity, I have found the most successful art lessons are those where there are some limitations or criteria in place. Once again, the limitations provide the structure that reduces kids’ anxieties and gives focus to their creativity. There’s brain research to back all of this up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

