#27

I posted on Facebook earlier today that I’ve been thinking a lot about the number twenty-seven. And then I started thinking about the number twenty-eight, too.

See, twenty-six innocent children and adults were slaughtered on Friday, December 14, at the Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut.

20121217-151627.jpg

But there was a twenty-seventh victim – the first one – the shooter’s mother, Nancy Lanza. And a twenty-eighth – the shooter, Adam Lanza.

Yes, I am sure Ms. Lanza made mistakes. And there is no excuse for what Mr. Lanza did. But the fact remains that they are also victims, and we must not forget that while we mourn the twenty-six lives stolen by Mr. Lanza.

I don’t imagine many of you will “like” this, but stop for a minute. Maybe Adam Lanza was sick. Maybe he was evil. Maybe his mother created a monster, or maybe she just tried to raise her son. But what they have in common with the children and adults of Sandy Hook is death, and it is not now for us to judge, but to try to take action to make sure there are never, never, never again any more tragedies like the one that took twenty-eight lives on Friday.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. robakers
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 15:43:59

    Thank you for your comments. It is important, to remember him as well. I wish I had the words. But I still believe that the pen is mightier than the sword. Several people are sending cards and letters to the school as a show of support.

    Here is the address:
    Sandy Hook Elementary School
    12 Dickenson Dr.
    Newtown, CT 06482

    God Bless

    Reply

  2. robakers
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 16:23:34

    I am sorry, I was not clear when I wrote that. What I intended to write…”It is important, to remember HIS FAMILY as well.” I am so sorry my fingers and my brain got tangled up.

    Please accept my apology for the confusion. Reading and comprehending was not my strong suit in school.

    My intent was to pass on the address of the school and offer a way to help show the good people of Newtown that they are not alone. I did not want you to think that I was just a cut and paste type of reader. I am sorry that I messed that up.

    Reply

  3. Suzanne
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 18:29:27

    Actually, I’m glad to see someone writing this. I still haven’t decided how I’m going to react to this tragedy, aside from pulling my head in like a turtle, but you are absolutely correct that there are 28 victims.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

