Forging Ahead

Yesterday was the one-year anniversary of this blog, and I was traveling with no wi-fi.  In 2012, I logged almost 50,000 air miles (the upside – I made Platinum on American Airlines!), 6a00d83451f7f169e2017ee3ed3f01970d-800wi-1God only knows how many nights in hotels, and ended up twenty damn pounds over my goal weight with only five Bikram classes to my credit for the whole month of December.  But hey, tomorrow is a new year!  As you may recall, I don’t do resolutions, but I do plan.

I already have three trips scheduled in January, with at least one more probably being added.  February is filling up too.  So planning is going to be important, as I am determined to make some changes this year.  The hardest part of my stepped-up travel/work schedule has been exercising and eating right – it’s so easy to make excuses, don’t you think?  One of my problems has been planning too far ahead (see the first two sentences of this paragraph for a perfect example).   And trying something new is good, right?  Since I can’t control my work schedule, I will focus on something I can control.  In 2013, I am going to plan my fitness regime one. week. at. a. time.   (I seem to be incapable of planning for a shorter time period.)  Can you say “control freak”?  Well, smartypants, don’t bother.

This week?  Starting New Year’s Day, I will go to Bikram at least two times before I fly out Thursday afternoon.  As I won’t be able to practice where I’m going, I’ve already packed my running clothes, and while I may start out walking (my hip has kept me from running for a looong time), I will get off my ass every. single. day.  I’m scheduling in a Weight Watchers meeting for Wednesday – I don’t have ANY clue as to how the new program works, but it sounds fascinating.  And before you ask why I am not starting today…I’m coming out of a migraine.  So there.

On a more global-for-me scale, I am giving myself permission:

Permission to say no.

Permission to ask for what I need, or even what I want.

Permission to be the woman I know I can be.

What are your plans for 2013?

Leave a Reply

