Labels Suck, Or Why I Don’t Call Myself A Feminist

Yes, I know,  I’m going to get all kinds of flack for this, but I just don’t care – I had to say it.  Before I get started, you need to read this article:  “The End of Feminism?”.  I’ll wait right here.  And then remind yourself of what I said about feminism in this post.

Okay, all done?  That article, and the comments, made me stop and think.  First, I realized I have never read The Feminine Mystique, so I promptly purchased the 50th Anniversary edition for my Kindle.   Now I just have to read it.

But seriously, what do we mean anymore by “feminist”?  How can I accept a label if I am not even sure what it means?  And please don’t make any snide comments about research and dictionaries.  We all know it’s a loaded term, and I think that a term so fraught with both positive and negative implications should not be used lightly.  But in fact, it is – used lightly, I mean.  It is used as though words don’t have power, and we all know they do.  Some words become so powerful we (appropriately) no longer use them – like the infamous “n-word”.  And some become so meaningless that their use no longer supports the original intent; to me, “feminist” is one of those words.

k5003136

Yes, these are ingredients. Ones I like to use in cooking.

So just call me by name.  No label needed.

I’ll show you what I’m made of pretty quickly.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne Demcisak
    Feb 07, 2013 @ 22:14:03

    When the subject comes up, I identify as a feminist specifically to open the field for the point that women are not yet equal, and that it’s not “ball-busting” to insist on equality. (They want to see ball-busting, I’ll show them the difference.) Besides, it pisses me off that the word “feminist” has been so badly beaten up by the male establishment that most women will back away from it so quickly.

    And no, I don’t think you’re backing away from it. Quite the opposite.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Mixing It Up, Or A Question of Perspective | Travels With Slippers, or The Life of A Single Woman Who Prefers It That Way

Leave a Reply

