Things My Mother Said

We lost my mother on June 23, 1995, and it’s still hard.  But the things she used to say help every day.

Glamour shot.

Glamour shot.

  • “It takes a bore to be bored.”  I cannot recommend this too highly to parents of children with mild ADHD.  It worked (and works) for me.
  • “The distance from our house to theirs is the same as from their house to ours.”  About friends who said I lived “too far away” when we moved to an uncool neighborhood.  The more profound point, of course, was that friends should make equal effort.
  • “Don’t worry about her behavior.  Worry about your own.”  Well, obviously.
  • “Be nice to your sisters/cousins/friends/everyone.”  Again, obviously.  But boy, it’s hard sometimes.  Then I remember how I never met anyone who thought my mother was not nice/kind/a great friend/a wonderful human being.  And of course, they are all right.
  • “I love you.”  I love you, too.
My mother in the article announcing her marriage.

My mother in the article announcing her marriage

  • My mother with my Nono and Nona at the party for my Christening in 1967.

    My mother with my Nono and Nona at the party for my Christening in 1967.

     

My mother and I...1967.

My mother and I…1967.

My mother, my sisters, and I - Matheson Hammock circa 1971.

My mother, my sisters, and I – Matheson Hammock circa 1971.

One of our last photos together...my mother and I at my YSD graduation - May, 1994.

One of our last photos together…my mother and I at my YSD graduation – May, 1994.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: I Hate Mother’s Day, Part Two | Travels With Slippers, or The Life of A Single Woman Who Prefers It That Way

Leave a Reply

