Yes. My Answer Is Yes.

I pretty much always say yes when asked to try something.  Not because I’m so daring, but because, frankly, I’m interested in what might happen.  When your thought processes work as oddly as mine, you often make decisions based on “oh, why not?”

And I would bet you’re thinking that this has probably gotten me into trouble over the years.  Well, sure, but what’s trouble other than part of the learning curve?  It’s not like I’ve been arrested or anything.  I chose my college and grad school(s) this way,  and this attitude got me into the hot room, and Bikram Yoga has taught me even more about saying “yes, I can”.

What I don’t do (or try not to, at least) is make excuses.  For my decisions or for my actions. images-1 I found this quote the other day, and I could not agree more:  “Excuses are the nails used to build a house of failure” (Don Wilder and Bill Rechin).  There are some people who say that excuses are the same as reasons, but I don’t buy it.  Generally, if I screw up – or even if someone thinks I did – I just say “I’m sorry”, and shut up.

Sometimes shutting up is the best excuse of all.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: I Want A Do-Over! | Travels With Slippers, or The Life of A Single Woman Who Prefers It That Way
  2. Trackback: No, I Can’t. And That’s OK. | Travels With Slippers, or The Life of A Single Woman Who Prefers It That Way

Leave a Reply

