I Want A Do-Over!

Remember when you were a kid, and sometimes, when playing a game, you would ask for (and even get) a do-over?

Overall, I’m pretty happy about how I’ve done, and am doing, but there are moments I remember that I wish I could just, well, do over.  You know, like:

  • The time I canceled going to the theater with a dear friend, and then I did not get to see him again before he passed.
  • The classes I skipped in college and grad school…I wonder now what I might have learned that I did not.
  • The stupid choice I made in spending so much time on the Evil Ex (and on other men in my past).
  • The friendships I left behind.
  • The many times I was inadvertently – or intentionally – unkind to my mother.   I wish I could hug her one more time, knowing everything I know now, and tell her how much the all-too-short time we had together means to me.

But more importantly, there are the things I would not do over.  There are so many more of these than the reverse, especially:

  • The things that made me laugh…or even smile.
  • The time I spend with my family, both good and bad.
  • Taking risks on people, even (sometimes especially) when they don’t work out.
  • Every time I said “I love you” to someone…and meant it.

But while I do believe that there should be no regrets, and especially, no excuses – that every decision you make is the best one you can make at the time – that does not mean you would make those same decisions again.

So, damn it, who’s inventing this?  do-over

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anne
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 15:11:14

    This is a really nice one, Flora –

    Reply

Leave a Reply

