Five Things I Want To Share With My Yoga Teachers

Let me start by saying that I love you all.  Each and every one of you, past and present, both those I see regularly and those I see rarely, or even meet only once.  I am in awe of the commitment that took you to Teacher Training, and the work you put in daily to be the best teacher you can be.  In every class,  I learn something new, and I am always more ready to face the day after spending ninety minutes in the hot room with you.envelope+yoga

That said, I can’t help but want to share a few thoughts…and do feel free to respond and tell me how wrong (or even right?) I am.  (In fact, feel free to give me some comments to help me be a better student.)   None of you do all of these, but many of you do some of these, at least some of the time.  And yes, my mind does sometimes wander in class, leading to posts like this!

1.  Notice me.  Not just me, but notice each of us.  When I go through an entire class and I hear comments and corrections flying, but none are aimed at me, it makes me feel invisible.  And yes, that may be my problem, not yours, but I believe you are committed to all of us, and sometimes, maybe, it’s just that you get distracted.  And yes, I do understand that new students, or those that are particularly struggling, may need you more that day.  But know that I’m there, and that I’m counting on you to notice that.

2.  Don’t assume.  If I see you regularly, and I keep making the same mistake, don’t assume it’s because I’m not trying.  Don’t assume I even remember that correction from last week in the heat (teehee) of the moment.  Each class is a new day, right?, so maybe I actually do need that repetition without an “I told you so” tone of voice (or comment).

3.  Know that I will assume.  I assume you want to be there.  I assume that you love this practice.  I assume you recognize the difference between slacking off and taking a needed break, and won’t shame me for it – at least not out loud, in front of the whole class.  And mostly, I assume that you care about each one of us, even if it’s only for the ninety minutes we are in class.

4.  The dialogue tells me to have a happy smiling face, and in fact, I agree that smiling (even when it feels more like a grimace) helps me in class.  Might it help you too?  I know it helps me when the teacher seems happy to be there.

5.  Trust me.  I trust you with my practice, and I need you to trust me with it too.   Trust that even when it looks like I’m not doing much, I’m working my hardest.  Maybe that day, working my hardest is in my own head, and doesn’t show as much to you.  But I’m feeling it, every class, and  I want you to trust that I do.

Thanks for listening…and know that as I wrote this, I realized that each one of these five points comes to mind because so many of my teachers do the opposite almost all the time, allowing me the luxury of knowing the difference.  Maybe I’m just spoiled with the wealth of wonderful teachers who are part of my practice and my life…thank you all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

