What If The Answer Is “Neither”?

Something I have heard in many Bikram Yoga classes, especially when there are new students, is that everyone enters the room differently – specifically that some people are more flexible, and some people are more strong.

But what if the answer is “neither”?  What if you’re like me? I’m just strong enough to know my weakness, and just flexible enough to recognize my rigidity.  And frankly, I think this is the best way to be, plus, this is a case in which yoga really is just like life.

If you are truly strong, part of being so is recognizing that you do have weaknesses – that you do have times when you have to actively pay attention to those weaknesses – and that not everything can be solved by stubborn.

This image has nothing to do with this post...except that Google brings this up for every variation I could think of that combined the words "strong" and "flexible".  So there.

This image has nothing to do with this post…except that Google brings this up for every variation I could think of that combined the words “strong” and “flexible”. So there.

 

If you are truly flexible, you know that there are some things about which you are completely rigid – that you have certain points beyond which you cannot, or more importantly, will not, go, and that sometimes putting your foot down is the best way to move forward.

 

 

I know, nothing revelatory here – but have you really stopped and thought about what strong vs. flexible means for you?

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Mar 22, 2015 @ 18:21:38

    I think of my personal growth in terms of becoming both stronger and more flexible. I don’t think you can be flexible without being strong, and I don’t think you can be strong without being flexible — one makes you breakable, and one makes you crushable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

