Moving Too Fast, Or The Toughest Week Of The Year

On June 25, 1986, we lost our beloved Uncle Mickey.  On June 23, 1995, we lost our beloved mother, Betty.  On June 23, 2005, we lost our beloved caretaker and adopted grandmother, Louise.  Certainly there have been other losses over the years, but the week of these “anniversaries” (is there a better word?) is always especially hard.

It can’t really be so many years, can it?  I remember each of them as though I saw them yesterday.  They are in my thoughts, in my dreams, in my prayers.

Heart-Love-Sky-Hands-Silhouette__1920x1200

I think about the times we shared.  I blush with shame when I remember the times I let them down.  I blush with pleasure when I remember the times I made them happy.

Whenever I wonder if there is an afterlife, I feel there must be.  Because I cannot abide the idea that those we’ve lost don’t continue – not as “angels” in any religious sense, but in our hearts and minds.

What better afterlife than to be remembered with love?

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Anne
    Jun 22, 2015 @ 08:02:18

    Best afterlife I know I can hope for. ❤ Thinking of you this week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

